Athlete Spotlight: Klarissa G

Athlete Spotlight


First Name & Last Initial

Klarissa G


Home Town

Magnolia, TX




Assistant to Global SHE Manager and Safety Standard Document Controller


When did you first start CrossFitting?

Feburary 2016


When did you first start training at BayWay CrossFit?

February 2016



Favorite WOD

Anything with hang cleans, double unders or Over-head squats


Least Favorite WOD

Anything with running, push-ups, dumb bells and air assault bike


Tell us about your sports & fitness background?

I played basketball for a couple of years and danced forever


How did you first get exposed to CrossFit? Take us back to your first WOD…what was it, and how did it feel?

A few of our close friends are coaches out in houston. We were invited to Imperium Crossfit for a partner WOD and thought I was going to die.

What sort of changes have you seen in your body, health and fitness since starting CrossFit? (before/after)

My legs have grown so much, in a good way. I went from a size 1 to a 3 to a 5 in less than a year! It’s feels so good to have nice legs 🙂 I like to think that I eat a lot better but I know it’s probably not true. I can’t help it, I love food! I am a lot leaner, stronger and most importantly in shape!


What sort of changes in your life have you experienced out of taking on something like CrossFit that were totally unexpected?

I have met some of the most amazing people and have become close friends. And, I don’t lose my breath when taking the stairs!

Please share with us any favorite CrossFit/BayWay CrossFit moments?

I have a few favorite moments… 1. When I mastered double unders 2. Hitting the 200lb club on my back squat 3. My first rope climb

Any advice for people just getting started?

IT TAKES TIME! I hated hearing that from my gym fam but it’s so true. Remember Rome wasn’t built in a day. You’ll eventually get where you want to be and you have a gym family that’s always rooting for you.


What are your hobbies, interests and/or talents outside of CrossFit?

Dancing, cooking, shopping, eating, traveling, hanging out with my husband, family and friends.

Previous PostNext Post